The Underhill Review

The Underhill Review ; a forum of history, ideas, and culture is dedicated to relationships between history, ideas, and culture, especially as these relate to Canada . It offers a forum for reflection, discussion, and analysis that is popular and engaged, yet informed by historical understanding and subject to rigorous scholarly standards.

Each issue features spirited essays on subjects of historical or contemporary concern and several substantive review essays written within an international and comparative framework.

We invite thoughtful writers who bring a historical perspective to contemporary intellectual and cultural subjects, issues, and concerns to propose essays and review essays for The Underhill Review.

Our aim is to provide those from any discipline with a forum that lies between the specialized scholarly research journal and the commercially driven general interest cultural magazine.

Essays and review essays should bear the authority of personal voice rather than that of the scholarly footnote, and should be addressed to the informed general reader.

ISSN 1916-1565   Copyright by The Underhill Review. Authors of accepted material assign The Underhill Review the right to publish the text both electronically and as printed matter and to make it available in an electronic archive, and to provide its essays and review essays to publishers for promotional materials. Authors may reprint their work on condition of approval by The Underhill Review, and provided that The Underhill Review is clearly acknowledged as the original source of publication.


Frank H. Underhill (1889-1971) in 1962
Frank H. Underhill
(1889-1971) in 1962

The Underhill Review is named after the Canadian historian and critic, Frank H. Underhill. The review honours his memory, his commitment to freedom of expression, and his iconoclasm. Like Underhill, the review combines originality and insight with well-informed and at times controversial opinion.


Mr. J. Carlisle Hanson, Q.C.
Mr. J. Carlisle Hanson, Q.C.
Courtesy Richard Bootsma

Publication of The Underhill Review has been made possible through an endowment from J. Carlisle Hanson, Q.C., with matching funds from the E. Bower Carty Endowment of Carleton University.

A graduate of the University of McGill University, J. Carlisle Hanson studied law and economics at the London School of Economics. After overseas service with the Canadian Army during the Second World War, he graduated from the University of New Brunswick with a degree in Civil Law and was called to the New Brunswick Bar in 1951. A lengthy career in the federal civil service followed, during which Mr. Hanson assumed positions with Treasury Board and the Legal Division of the Department of National Health and Welfare.

A strong advocate and defender of freedom of expression and of the press, Mr. Hanson has been, and continues to be, a patron of Carleton University for many years. We thank Mr. Hanson, the E. Bower Carty Endowment, and Carleton University for their generous support of The Underhill Review.



A.B. McKillop

Associate Editors:

Matthew J. Bellamy
Canada, Business

Katie Cholette
Art, Culture, illustration

Joanna Dean
Canada, Religion, Environment, Women & Gender

Andrew M. Johnston
United States, International Relations

James Miller
United States, Atlantic World

David Tough
Canada, Politics and Culture

Pamela J. Walker
Victorian Britain, African Americans

Susan B. Whitney
Europe, Women & Gender, Youth


J.M. Bumsted

Professor Emeritus of History, University of Manitoba, Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, and President of the Manitoba Historical Society, author of many works of popular and scholarly history, including Thomas Scottís Body: Essays on Early Manitoba History, Fur Trade Wars: The Founding of Western Canada, The Winnipeg General Strike of 1919: An Illustrated History, and The Peoples of Canada.

Denise Chong

Writer and economist; author of Egg on Mao, The Concubineís Children: Portrait of a Family Divided; and The Girl in the Picture; The Story of Kim Phuc, the Photograph, and the Vietnam War; winner of the City of Vancouver Book Award, the Edna Staebler Award, and the VanCity Book Prize; twice finalist for the Governor Generalís Literary Award.

Christopher Dornan

Writer and editor; Director of the Arthur Kroeger College of Public Affairs, associate dean of the Faculty of Public Affairs, and former Director of the School of Journalism and Communication, Carleton University; contributor to journals such as Science as Culture and Media Studies Journal; co-editor of The Canadian Federal Election of 2006, along with two previous volumes in this series.

Ruth Dunley

Journalist, historian. Associate Editor, CanWest Global Communications, Ottawa. Master of Journalism, Carleton University, doctoral candidate in nineteenth- century U.S. history, University of Ottawa; 2004 Fulbright Scholar, College of William & Mary.

Peter Emberley

Professor of Political Science and founding Director of the College of the Humanities, Carleton University; author of Divine Hunger: Canadians on Spiritual Walkabout; Bankrupt Education: The Decline of Liberal Education in Canada; and By Loving our Own: George Grant and the Legacy of Lament for a Nation.

Charlotte Gray

Historian and journalist; author of six best-sellers, including Sisters in the Wilderness: The Lives of Susanna Moodie and Catherine Parr Trail and, most recently, Reluctant Genius; The Passionate Life and Inventive Mind of Alexander Graham Bell; adjunct research professor, Department of History, Carleton University, recipient of Edna Staebler Award, two Canadian Authors Awards, Ottawa Book Award, Donald Creighton Award, UBC Biography Medal and Pierre Berton Award.

Paul Stortz

Associate Professor, Canadian Studies, Faculty of Communication and Culture, University of Calgary; founding editor of History of Intellectual Culture (an electronic journal), and editor of Historical Identities; the Professoriate in Canada.

Jean-Philippe Warren

Jean-Philippe Warren holds the Research Chair for the Study of Quebec at Concordia University. Among other publications, he is the author of Une douce anarchie: Les années 68 au Québec, Ils voulaient changer to monde. Le militantism marxiste-léniniste au Québec, and L’Engagement sociologique: La tradition sociologique au Québec francophone (Montréal: Éditions du Boréal, 2005), which won the Clio Award of the Canadian Historical Association and the Michel Brunet Award.