Call for Proposals

Full Conference Program


Conference & Workshop Registration



Transportation/Around Town

Conference Organizers

Contact Us

Follow us on Twitter  Follow us on Twitter  Follow us on Facebook  

Campus map


Genre 2012 will continue the tradition and scholarly conversation that originated with the first international colloquium on Genre Studies, “Rethinking Genre,” held at Carleton University in 1992.

The goals of Genre 2012 are the following:

▶  Read a welcome message from Aviva Freedman.
▶  Read a welcome message from Roseann O’Reilly Runte

Keynote Speakers: Charles Bazerman (University of California, Santa Barbara, USA), Vijay Bhatia (City University of Hong Kong), Ken Hyland (University of Hong Kong), James Martin (University of Sydney, Australia), Carolyn Miller (North Carolina State University, USA), David Russell (Iowa State University, USA), Catherine Schryer (Ryerson University, Canada), John Swales (University of Michigan at Ann Arbor, USA).

Special Session Presenters: Anis Bawarshi (University of Washington, USA), Amy Devitt (University of Kansas, USA), Janet Giltrow (University of British Columbia, Canada), Ann Johns (San Diego State University, USA), Anthony Paré (McGill University, Canada), David Rose (University of Sydney, Australia), Clay Spinuzzi (University of Texas at Austin, USA), Christine Tardy (DePaul University, USA).

Conference News

Dates to Remember:

  • May 1, 2012
    - course registration opens (May 2 for Special Students)
    - deadline for presenter registration
  • May 18, 2012 - course registration closes
  • May 26, 2012 - online conference registration closes (11:59 p.m. EST)
  • On-Site Registration
    • June 25, 2012: noon – 9:00 p.m. in Residence Commons lobby
    • June 26, 2012: 7:30 a.m. – 1:00 p.m. in Loeb Lobby; 6:00 – 9:00 p.m. in Residence Commons Lobby
    • June 27, 2012: 7:30 – 9:00 a.m. in Loeb Lobby; 12:00 – 1:00 p.m. in Loeb Lobby
    • June 28, 2012: 7:30 – 9:00 a.m. in Loeb Lobby; 12:00pm – 1:00 p.m. in Loeb Lobby
    • June 29, 2012: 7:30 - 9:30 a.m. in Loeb Lobby


The conference is co-sponsored by: